Returning to Dominaria


Last week, WoTC had another unfortunate leak. What's different about this one, is that it appears to have been Wizards' own mistake that saw the Release Notes for the set published on their Chinese Language website.

In my opinion, Wizards' response of releasing the English version of the notes, was a good one. This prevented players from speculating on the information with possibly poorly translated notes. Though they decided not to release the full card image gallery with the release notes, we've seen enough of the set know it's going to rock!

Let's start with the Planeswalkers:

Karn, Scion of Urza

+1: Reveal the top two cards of your library. An opponent chooses one of them. Put that card into your hand and exile the other with a silver counter on it. −1: Put a card you own with a silver counter on it from exile into your hand. −2: Create a 0/0 colorless Construct artifact creature token with “This creature gets +1/+1 for each artifact you control.”

I'd imagine Karn will find himself right at home in Affinity decks.

Teferi, Hero of Dominaria

+1: Draw a card. At the beginning of the next end step, untap two lands. −3: Put target nonland permanent into its owner’s library third from the top. −8: You get an emblem with “Whenever you draw a card, exile target permanent an opponent controls.”

We last saw Teferi as a Planeswalker in Commander 2014. I don't know about you, but his ultimate ability could be pretty awesome! Couple him with Howling Mine or similar for some good times.

Jaya Ballard

+1: Add RRR. Spend this mana only to cast instant or sorcery spells. +1: Discard up to three cards, then draw that many cards. −8: You get an emblem with “You may cast instant and sorcery cards from your graveyard. If a card cast this way would be put into your graveyard, exile it instead.”

The heavy focus of this set is Legends; legendary creatures (one in every pack!), Planeswalkers, artifacts, etc.. "Starting in the Dominaria set, legendary cards other than planeswalkers, use a modified card frame with additional flourishes on the title bar. This change is cosmetic and has no rules meaning, but it should help you identify legendary cards at a glance during games."

Which leads us to Mox Amber:

Mox Amber

0

Legendary Artifact

T: Add one mana pool of any color among legendary creatures or planeswalkers you control.

Holy smokes I'm excited for this card! A new Mox that costs 0?! This is definitely going to be one of the chase cards of the set and I'm looking forward to opening a couple.

New Card Type - Sagas

The Dominaria set introduces a new kind of enchantment: Sagas. Each Saga tells the story of a key event from the past as it unfolds during each of your turns.

Phyrexian Scriptures 2BB Enchantment — Saga (As this Saga enters and after your draw step, add a lore counter. Sacrifice after III.) I, II — Put a +1/+1 counter on up to one target creature. That creature becomes an artifact in addition to its other types.

II — Destroy all non-artifact creatures. III — Exile all cards from all opponents' graveyards.

  • As a Saga enters the battlefield, its controller puts a lore counter on it. As your precombat main phase begins (immediately after your draw step), you put another lore counter on each Saga you control. Putting a lore counter on a Saga in either of these ways doesn't use the stack.

  • Each symbol on the left of a Saga's text box represents a chapter ability. A chapter ability is a triggered ability that triggers when a lore counter that is put on the Saga causes the number of lore counters on the Saga to become equal to or greater than the ability's chapter number. Chapter abilities are put onto the stack and may be responded to.

  • A chapter ability doesn't trigger if a lore counter is put on a Saga that already had a number of lore counters greater than or equal to that chapter's number. For example, the third lore counter put on a Saga causes the III chapter ability to trigger, but I and II won't trigger again.

  • Once a chapter ability has triggered, the ability on the stack won't be affected if the Saga gains or loses counters, or if it leaves the battlefield.

  • If multiple chapter abilities trigger at the same time, their controller puts them on the stack in any order. If any of them require targets, those targets are chosen as you put the abilities on the stack, before any of those abilities resolve.

  • If counters are removed from a Saga, the appropriate chapter abilities will trigger again when the Saga receives lore counters. Removing lore counters won't cause a previous chapter ability to trigger.

Once the number of lore counters on a Saga is greater than or equal to the greatest number among its chapter abilities—in the Dominaria set, this is always three—the Saga's controller sacrifices it as soon as its chapter ability has left the stack, most likely by resolving or being countered. This state-based action doesn't use the stack.

I can already see the shenanigans that are going to ensue with Proliferate effects, as well as with effects to remove Lore counters from Sagas, or just "blinking" these cards. Can't wait!

Dominaria debuts legendary sorcery cards that capture extraordinary moments from our characters' pasts. These powerful spells can be unleashed only with the assistance of a legendary creature or planeswalker on your side of the battlefield.

Urza's Ruinous Blast 4W Legendary Sorcery (You may cast a legendary sorcery only if you control a legendary creature or planeswalker.) Exile all nonland permanents that aren't legendary.

  • You can't cast a legendary sorcery unless you control a legendary creature or a legendary planeswalker. Once you begin to cast a legendary sorcery, losing control of your legendary creatures and planeswalkers won't affect that spell.

  • Other than the casting restriction, the legendary supertype on a sorcery carries no additional rules. You may cast any number of legendary sorceries in a turn, and your deck may contain any number of legendary cards (but no more than four of any with the same name).

New Term: Historic

If you look at this set's Saga cards, legendary cards, and artifact cards, you'll see a broad swath of Dominaria's extensive and mysterious history. Some cards celebrate the plane's storied past by rewarding you for playing these historic cards. Historic is a game term that refers to a card that has the legendary supertype, the artifact card type, or the Saga enchantment type.

Jhoira, Weatherlight Captain 2UR Legendary Creature — Human Artificer 3/3 Whenever you cast a historic spell, draw a card. (Artifacts, legendaries, and Sagas are historic.)

  • A card, spell, or permanent is historic if it has the legendary supertype, the artifact card type, or the Saga sub-type. Having two of those qualities doesn't make an object more historic than another or provide an additional bonus—an object either is historic or it isn't.

  • Some abilities trigger "whenever you cast a historic spell." Such an ability resolves before the spell that caused it to trigger. It resolves even if that spell is countered.

  • An ability that triggers "whenever you cast a historic spell" doesn't trigger if a historic card is put onto the battlefield without being cast.

  • Lands are never cast, so abilities that trigger "whenever you cast a historic spell" won't trigger if you play a legendary land. They also won't trigger if a card on the battlefield transforms into a legendary land, as the Ixalan and Rivals of Ixalan double-faced cards do.

Rules Change: Damage Can't Be Redirected to Planeswalkers

Previously, you could redirect noncombat damage that a source you control would deal to an opponent, having that source instead deal that damage to one of their planeswalkers. With the release of the Dominaria set, this rule is being removed from the game. A large number of cards that dealt a certain amount of damage to "target player" are receiving errata using the following guidelines:

  • Abilities that read "target creature or player" have been changed to "any target."

  • Abilities that read "target player" have been changed to "target player or planeswalker." However, if the amount of damage is calculated by using information about that player or objects they control, the ability remains unchanged and can now damage only the player.

  • Abilities that read "target opponent" have been changed to "target opponent or planeswalker" with the same exception listed above. These spells and abilities can target a planeswalker you control.

  • Abilities that deal damage but don't call for a target haven't received errata, with one exception (Vial Smasher the Fierce).

Cycle: "Check Lands"

The Dominaria set features a cycle of enemy-color dual lands to help you make sure you always have the mana that you need. These cards were first printed in the Innistrad set, and their allied counterparts were recently printed in the Ixalan set.

Isolated Chapel Land Isolated Chapel enters the battlefield tapped unless you control a Plains or a Swamp. T: Add W or B.

  • The enters-the-battlefield abilities of these dual lands check for lands you control with either of the two listed land types, not either of the two listed names. The lands they check for don't have to be basic lands. For example, if you control Scattered Groves (a nonbasic land with the land types Forest and Plains), Isolated Chapel enters the battlefield untapped.

  • These dual lands don't have any land types themselves. For example, Isolated Chapel isn't a Plains. A second Isolated Chapel won't enter untapped if you control only Isolated Chapel.

  • As these lands are entering the battlefield, they check for lands that are already on the battlefield. They won't see lands that are entering the battlefield at the same time.

Recap:

3 new/returning Planeswalkers

New Saga cards

Historic Cards

Cycle of Enemy Check Lands

A new Mox!

What are you excited for in this set? Let us know in the comments below!

#Dominaria #MTGDOM #DOM

32 views

Project MTG is unofficial Fan Content permitted under the WOTC Fan Content Policy and the Fair Use Doctrine under US Trademark Law. Project MTG is not approved or endorsed by Wizards. Portions of the materials used in our content are property of Wizards of the Coast. ©Wizards of the Coast LLC.

All other content is Copyright © 2017-2020 Project MTG, All Rights Reserved